Interview: Björn Strid of Soilwork

It’s easy to recognize Björn Strid of Soilwork. You can’t miss his tall frame. On this chilly Chicago day (like a true Scandinavian) he’s wearing basketball shorts, seemingly unbothered, while some Chicagoans are still bundled up in winter attire. When I mention my observation to him, he laughs and says, “Yeah… I was hoping to workout. That’s the only reason. But it is pretty damn cold! We just had nice weather the other day!”

Soilwork and Fear Factory have been touring together for the past month. It’s the second time I’ll be seeing Soilwork in the Chicago area within the last six months. They’re promoting The Ride Majestic heavily, and rightfully so. It’s fantastic! Björn also tells me that it comes from a place of healing. Working on this project has helped him (and other band members) cope with recent loss.

Soilwork continues to elevate their sound. Björn and I revisit their writing process, discuss the story behind “The Pittsburgh Syndrome” (hey – I’m from Pittsburgh, I had to ask!), and talk about their recent gain – bassist Markus Wibom, who Björn tells me is a longtime friend (and former tech) to the band. Some of you know that he’s a hockey fan, and he tells us who his team is…

Let’s take a ride! Watch my interview with Björn Strid (who I nominate for “The Nicest Guy In Metal” by the way!) below. The full interview (an audio version) can be found below that too.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

