Review: Lacuna Coil – Delirium

Wow! Wow! Wow! I’ve gotta say… the latest album from Lacuna Coil, Delirium, definitely packs a punch! Released today (May 27, 2016), Delirium is truly an album of “firsts” for Lacuna Coil.

Immediately, you’ll notice that Lacuna Coil‘s sound has seemingly shifted somewhat back to its’ Karmacode days; and that’s mixed with some of their consistent influences (think Depeche Mode meets their Karmacode material). It’s like listening to someone working in a chemistry lab.

There’s plenty of reasons for that. This album marks the first time Lacuna Coil fans won’t see drummer Cristiano “Criz” Mozzati and guitarists Cristiano “Pizza”, (he retired from the band on Valentine’s Day 2014), and Marco “Maus” Biazzi. They were with the band since the beginning. Now, fans see Marco Coti Melati (Bass, Guitars, Keyboards, Production – he produced Delirium) taking a more prominent role in the band,  and are introduced to Ryan Blake Folden (Drums, Percussion).

Additionally, this created “room to play” for their guitar parts. Take a look at the list of guest guitarists that add to the sound! Super exciting stuff!

  • Diego Cavallotti: Guitar Solo on “Ultima Ratio” and additional guitars.
  • Marco Barusso: Guitar Solo on “The House of Shame”.
  • Myles Kennedy: Guitar Solo on “Downfall”.
  • Alessandro La Porta: Guitar Solo on “Claustrophobia”.
  • Mark Vollelunga: Guitar Solo and additional guitars on “Blood tears dust”.

Cristina Scabbia sings noticeably higher on this album (see “You Love Me ‘Cause I You” and “Delirium”), more so than she had on Shallow Life and Dark Adrenaline. Her, and Andrea Ferro‘s parts, are divided very equally as always.

Despite the numerous changes, there is something familiar about this version of Lacuna Coil. Perhaps it’s because they felt super comfortable while recording it. They mixed and produced this record in their home country, Italy.

It’s Depeche Mode meets older Lacuna Coil, and it’s deliciousy delirious!

1. “The House of Shame” 5:17
2. “Broken Things” 3:59
3. “Delirium” 3:16
4. “Blood, Tears, Dust” 3:55
5. “Downfall” 4:21
6. “Take Me Home” 3:45
7. “You Love Me ‘Cause I Hate You” 3:49
8. “Ghost in the Mist” 4:14
9. “My Demons” 3:56
10. “Claustrophobia” 4:07
11. “Ultima Ratio” 4:08



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s